JabRef and Dropbox conflict: "Could not save, file locked by another JabRef instance"

Hello, I have been using JabRef for several years, but now I run into this annoying issue every time I try to save a bib entry. The error message is in the title of this topic. Interestingly, I notice that there is a file “mybibliography.bib.lock” generated when this occurs (mybibliography.bib is my bib database file). And if I delete it, I can then save the entry. Can anyone help me out here? It’s driving me crazy. Many thanks!

What comes to mind is that you could restrict the Jabref to have not more than one instance: you could open Remote operations https://help.jabref.org/en/Remote. Than there would be running a single instance of Jabref and the problem could be avoided. I use this for JabFox import (Port 6050). BTW I could not find the .lock file, where is it in relation to the library?

Do you have Autosave enabled?

Hi Bernhard, thanks for looking into the problem. Should I check or uncheck the remote operation option? I did both, but the lock file is generated anyway and so I still couldn’t save. The lock file is generated under the same folder as the bib file, and has the same name.

Hi Christoph, thanks for the help. I did have it enabled (by default). When I disabled it, the problem still persists.

I have Jabref 4.0 on Win7. I cannot see any lock file in the folder with the bib-files. I made sure that hidden files are shown. You didnot tell us which version of jabref and which system you have.

Hi Bernhard, sorry about that. I also have Jabref 4.0, but the problem started with the previous version as well, both were run in Windows 10. I don’t know what happened, and I didn’t change any configurations (that I am aware of) until what you and Christoph suggested me do. I think the fact you don’t have the lock file is precisely the reason why you don’t have the problem. Thanks.