Problems saving database: "Save failed during backup creation. Save without backup?"

I have been using JabRef for a couple of years now with no problems. All of a sudden when I tried to save a database, the dialogue box saying > “Save failed during backup creation. Save without backup?” is popping up. If I click yes, it won’t save and says > “Status: Save failed”. If I try and close it anyway, I jut get the dialogue box that doesn’t close that says > “Waiting for operation to save and finish…”

What is going on here??? I didn’t do anything differently here, I’ve been using the same database. Only change was I tried to copy one reference from one database to another. All databases are having this problem now!! Please help!

Hi!
This sounds quite weird…

Can you please tell us which version of JabRef you are using on which operating system?

Hi there Matthias,

Yes very weird! I’m using version 2.7b on Ubuntu 12.04. I’ve been using the same version now for almost 3 years and have never had any problems!

Any ideas?

Honestly: No.

Can you check whether the error console (Help -> Error Console) is showing something useful?

However, this version of JabRef is really old and no longer actively maintained.

You should try using a more recent version which is available here: http://www.jabref.org/#downloads

Please make a backup of your bib-Database before opening it in JabRef 3.6 as there have been massive changes in the code and functionality since v2.7b

Regards,
Matthias

Ok I’ll just try doing that… really really stupid question here but how do I make a backup?

That is even a beta version, isn’t it?

For a backup, you can just copy your bib file to another folder.

Just a side note: Nearly all versions of Ubuntu 12.04 have reached end of life years ago. I hope you are on 12.05.5 LTS, because otherwise your system is running without security updates. Even that version will expire in a few months. See: https://wiki.ubuntu.com/Releases