Why Zotero and JabRef are two different apps?

This is a simple question. I do not want to start a competition about which software is better. Rather, since the open-source community has limited man-power, I think we should know why we are developing two softwares, instead of focusing on one.

So, to the developers of JabRef I ask: What features (planned, or already implemented) make JabRef different from Zotero? Are JabRef and Zotero trying to solve different problems? Again, not a comparison about which is better. Just an objective presentation of the differences, I don’t care whether you like them or not.

1 Like

I am not a developer. But, I can see the difference between the two applications.

Zotero is supporting Bibtex format quite recently; mostly using addons. The bibtext is the main focus of Jabref. Jabref doesn’t attemp to insert references to word processors like Zotero does.

So, they are different with different audience. Jabref and BibDesk are primarily for Latex (bibtex). Zotero and Mendeley are primarily for word processors like MS. Word.

Zotero + Better Bibtex plugin is pretty good at handling LaTeX (although right now Better Bibtex does not work with Zotero 5, but it should soon). So there is an overlap here. Is there something that JabRef does with bibtex that Zotero misses in a fundamental sense?

Yes, there are many tools in Jabref specifically designed for manipulating Bibtext. You can check out the feature lists in Jabref and compare them with Zotero yourself. I personally have tried Zotero a couple of times. It is a great application. But, it doesn’t give me the full control of my bibtex file as Jabref does.

I use Bookends and Jabref together.

1 Like

I’m a developer, but not really an user of Zotero - so my knowledge upon Zotero is only limited. :wink:

I think JabRef is stronger in it’s grouping, searching and (table) sorting features.