FullText Search on a remote database

Hi dear Forum

I am new to JabRef and enjoying very much so far. But I encounterd a problem.

System

• JabRef 5.9–2023-01-08–76253f1a7
  • Windows 10 10.0 amd64
  • Java 19.0.1
  • JavaFX 19+11

Setup

• remote database used by around 5 peopls
  • MYSQL
  • the files are all stored in a single folder on a NAS
  • as of now there are approximately 250 pdf articles in this folder and in the JabRef Databse

Question

I have a question regarding the fulltext search. I decided to use JabRef as it seemed to offer a really good fulltext search and it also seemed to work. At one point it felt like the fulltext search is not working anymore at all. Now I have some questions regarding my use cases.

• are the indexes locally, because a co-worker seems to have a working fulltext search by accessing the same database as I do. On his machine the fulltext search seems to work properly
  • is there any way to test the full text search apart from trial and error?

If any questions remain. Please let me know:

Best, Sebastian

Have you actually “enabled” the full-text search?

Hi thanks for the help,

Yes I enabeld this function and I also enabled this
in the preferences

I think indexes are stored locally, but I don’t know where. Everytime users upgrade to a new version of JabRef, a new full-text index is created. This is, because usually in between JabRef versions, the search backend is upgraded to a newer version and these indexes are not backwards compatible.

Hmm. Tough issue.
Maybe you could compare your settings with your colleagues settings under options / file > preferences > linked files and also under library > library properties > override default file directories

Hi ThilotE

Thanks for your suggestions. I will test this out asap but it will not be before Wendesday next week. I will come back to this feed and report.

For any other tips I am still open.

Thanks and best,
Sebastian

HI, you can also try Tools → Rebuild search index