Incorporate docear4word into jabref 4?

Hi, I started using Jabref from version 2. But it is ugly to insert jabref entries into ms word untill docear4word appeared. Docear4word can insert entryies in a bibtex file into ms word in a convenient manner. However, it will attractive connect jabref with word directly.

May I ask that could the comming jabref 4 push entries into ms word directly? If that, I think jabref will be the most powful tool, instead of endnote or zotero.

We are very well aware of the plugin and extracted the code to https://github.com/JabRef/JabRef4Word. However, we currently have no resources for developing the plugin further. We also cannot pay anyone to do it. Docear is in a similar situation: http://www.docear.org/2014/10/23/how-to-proceed-with-the-development-of-the-docear4libreoffice-add-on/

Maybe you know a developer who wants to volunteer here? We would be very happy to support.

1 Like

Sorry for that. I’m not a programmer yet.

Furthermore, when an entry in Jabref was deleted, its related files had better be moved into a trash subdirectory automatically. Will it come into effect in the next version?

Please file a feature request at Issues · JabRef/jabref · GitHub. It is a kind of thing a beginner can do and which we can thus get linked from Up For Grabs.

Regarding linked files, the current 4.0 dev version has the option to delete the file on disk or to just remove the file link from the entry.

Sorry to dig this up but I recently found out about Docear4Word and finally got it working, using this Help here: Forums » Docear Support Forums » Bug Reports » Docear4Word wont install if .NET newer than 2.0 is already installed « Docear
Unfortunately, I have to write more and more Word documents and thus I need a solution which is fast and not as annoying as syncing .xml files :wink: