Merging entries with files and other doubts

Dear friends,

I’ve been using Jabref for several years now, however I have never dug into the powerful features it offers to organize my whole research bibliography. This means that now, that I am trying to move completely onto Jabref and use all its power, I find myself with several thousands of pdfs, bib files scattered everywhere and … (you can imagine). I have gladly discovered that Jabref features allow me to refactor all this mess to some extent and in the process (I am still through it) I have missed some feature (or maybe I have been unable to discover how to use Jabref properly to attain my goal).

Maybe the most important problem I face is the following:

Case A: I have incorporated to my bibliography in Jabref a duplicated entry. One of them is linked to a pdf and the other is linked to another pdf. When I try to merge them Jabref allows me to choose between them but not to create an entry with both pdfs. Can it be achieved? [I know an entry admits links to several files and I do use this feature.]

Case B: I have an entry with several links to pdfs. One of them is a preprint (arxiv for instance) version, the second is a final version but “author version” and the third is the “journal final” version. I want to refactor their names automatically and I can do with the values of the entry. However, this leads to put the same name to all of them and, therefore, implies cumbersome behaviour. Is there a possibility of automatically change their name having into account a property of the file and not of the bibliographic entry?