Line wrap in entry table

I would like to increase the row height of the entry table as discussed here and enable overflow wrapping for a better view of entry titles (i.e., increase row height and show two or three lines of text per row).

I think this is possible with the overflow-wrap CSS property but I don’t know where to add it to the theme file or if there is a different property to use with JavaFX.

overflow-wrap: normal|anywhere|break-word|initial|inherit;

I also notice that line height in the default theme is expressed in -em -fx-cell-size: 4.0em; rather than in pixels as previously posted. I presume that a different multiplier here would work to change the row height.

Line wrapping and variable row height would also be nice to have in the UI, but I will start with a theme file since I am not a developer. Would someone please share advice on how to make the change?

Hi,

that sounds interesting. You can play around with creating a new theme based on the old one:
Pixel vs em: em is the prefered unit because it’s relative to the font size in contrast to pixel

respectively https://docs.jabref.org/advanced/custom-themes

I have copied the original CSS. I am trying to figure out where in the file to put the overflow-wrap property, which I think is supposed to be -fx-wrap-text. Maybe in the .table-cell section?

The previous topic showed this

.table-view .cell{
	 -fx-cell-size: 100; //default is 24
}

I think this is the section of interest where I might add -fx-wrap-text: true

.table-cell,
.tree-table-cell,
.table-cell .glyph-icon,
.tree-table-cell .glyph-icon {
-fx-padding: 0.5em 1em 0.5em 1em;
-fx-cell-size: 4.0em;
-fx-text-fill: -fx-text-background-color;
-fx-fill: -fx-text-background-color;
}

Messing around with Scenic View is something that would have to wait for another time.

Edit above: incorrect guess. table-view not table-cell

Solution