Feedback on JabRef 5.0 (Windows 10) - Various issues

I have been using JabRef since 2007 and I think it is an excellent tool. So first of all, many thanks to all those people who have contributed to its development. I would not want my feedback below to give the impression that I do not appreciate this SW.

I have been using JR 5.0 since it came out and these are some of the issues which I would suggest need to be addressed. (I don’t think that they have been mentioned in other posts, but apologies if they have). I use a small laptop (12" screen) with Windows 10.

1. Autolink function/file linking

• The new features of the autolink function have made it rather cumbersome for linking documents which are already in your documents folder (something I do all the time). It only works if you:

1. save the file in the documents folder,
    2. select another entry and then
    3. return to the entry you are editing.

This seems an unecessarily cumbersome procedure.

• Note. The autolink function will only recognize file types that are defined in the list of “External File Types” in the “External programs” menu. A small detail which it took me hours to work out.

• The old manual system of linking files was much better, in my opinion. In JR 5.x, when you press the Search button, JabRef looks for a copy online but does not look in the designated local file directory.

• I suggest the following procedure when you click on search:

1. JR searches the local file directory first and autolinks any files that fit – without requesting confirmation (if a file is named like the BibTex key then evidently you want to link it);
    2. JR searches for any matches online.
    3. Or, alternatively, have one button for a local search and one for an online search (there is plenty of room for an extra button).

2. Groups