PDF column in entry table

I am joining the group again after several years, so thank you all and all the best for the new year. I have been using jabref for many years but I keep using a very old version because I cannot find in the new versions (I am trying 5.8, debian installer, on a Linux Mint 21 with Mate). In old versions I find extremely useful to have two “file” columns: I use one for PDF files and one for my comments, generally a simple Markdown file (extension *.md). If I understand correctly, in this version I can use only one file column. Do I understand correctly or am I missing something? I am very interested also because each year I offer a seminar on bibliography to our PhD students. Incidentally, I have written a couple of pages on Jabref in my book on digital humanities.
Thank you again for your great work.
Guido Milanese (Italy)

Felice anno nuovo to you, and thanks for taking another look at JabRef!

To answer your question, there is currently only one file column. However, if you add multiple files to one entry, JabRef will offer a dropdown menu on clicking:

As you mention custom markdown files, you could also take advantage of the feature that in newer versions, JabRef offers markdown support in the comment field! So you could enter your markdown directly in the comment field.

I cannot find in the new versions (I am trying 5.8, debian installer, on a Linux Mint 21 with Mate)

You could install JabRef as snap, or as Flatpak in addition to using the Debian installer. We currently lack the capacity to provide a version for the main Debian repository

Iam very interested also because each year I offer a seminar on bibliography to our PhD students. Incidentally, I have written a couple of pages in my book on digital humanities.

That sounds very cool! Do you have a link or (a reference :wink: ) at hand for the chapter/page of the book?